In Pursuit Of The Knockout Shot (part 1)

Lighting and position are always critical considerations when photographing but never more so than when shooting boxing. On Saturday evening I covered another amateur boxing event for Neil Perkins at Fighting Fit City Gym. In this case it was for the Bill Meddings Memorial Cup and although I don’t profess to be an expert (just someone who photographs a lot of boxing), I thought this was one of the best boxing events I’ve ever covered.

Copyright David Rann 2013

Copyright David Rann 2013

More images from other bouts to follow in later posts.

Copyright David Rann 2013

Copyright David Rann 2013

Now then, as I was saying, lighting is always critical but when you need shutter speeds of at least 1/500s to capture action like this, high ISO’s are inevitable. However, the venue for Saturday’s event was Gatecrasher nightclub in Birmingham and so lighting is usually pretty good. As usual though, the area at the “back” of the ring (furthest away from the crowd) wasn’t very well covered by the spotlights. This meant that any action taking place in that part of the ring would be nigh on impossible to photograph.

Copyright David Rann 2013

Copyright David Rann 2013

However, as my weapon of choice lens-wise for these events is my (fixed focal length) 50mm f1.4, I know from experience that when the action is right on top of me ie, against the ropes on the side I’m shooting from, it’s unlikely I’m going to get many successful shots of that action anyway. And so I decided to pitch myself in a corner on the dark side of the ring, knowing that I’d then be able to cover the action everywhere else in the ring (the other 80%).

Copyright David Rann 2013

Copyright David Rann 2013

As luck would have it, this also meant i was out of the way of the judges, time-keepers and audience too, plus the background from that angle included some great coloured screens.

Copyright David Rann 2013

Copyright David Rann 2013

And one more…

Copyright David Rann 2013

Copyright David Rann 2013

Thanks to the reasonable light levels in 80% of the ring, I was able to shoot at 1600ISO or less all evening which meant better quality images and fewer worries about battling the noise during post-production.

Find out more about Fighting Fit City Gym at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Fighting-Fit-City-Gym/37835833657?fref=ts

More soon.

 

Leave a Reply

