No Shoot Like Home

When I can, I like to do the odd “fun shoot” – shoots intended to be nothing more than a test for new equipment, different lighting, different looks, to try new themes and post-production styles. My most recent “fun shoot” was all about seeing what I could get squeeze creatively out of a familiar environment, in this case my apartment and apartment block. I also had some vague notions of creating something “filmic”, perhaps capturing some noir-ish lighting and hinting at some kind of imagined narrative.

Samantha. Copyright David Rann 2013

Samantha. Copyright David Rann 2013

I put out a casting on a certain well-known social networking site (I doubt they need the name-check) asking for a volunteer non-model model. On other words, someone who was prepared to pose for me given the vaguest of briefs but ideally not someone who models on a regular or professional basis. I was chuffed when Samantha tentatively stepped forward.

Samantha. Copyright David Rann 2013

Samantha. Copyright David Rann 2013

Samantha has a great look: loads of tattoos, and with eyes that seem to change colour depending on the light. Dodging other residents and the cleaners, we started by shooting in the communal corridor and stairwells using only available light.

Samantha. Copyright David Rann 2013

Samantha. Copyright David Rann 2013

Samantha. Copyright David Rann 2013

Samantha. Copyright David Rann 2013

Samantha. Copyright David Rann 2013

Samantha. Copyright David Rann 2013

As you can see, I’ve also had a bit of fun with the post-production on these images. everything was shot on RAW, processed initially in Lightroom and then a bit of grunge texture mood added in Snapseed.

More to follow…

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “No Shoot Like Home

Leave a Reply

