Pride Of The Black Country: The Story Continues…

When I was working towards my photography degree a few years back I began a documentary project (my first) about my local boxing club – Priory Park ABC in Dudley. I’ve been photographing the club (named “the Pride of the Black Country” by one boxing MC), their fighters and their events ever since. Earlier this month I again photographed Priory Park’s brightest stars at Wolverhampton’s Civic Hall, including Luke Paddock, Ricky Summers and, fighting for his first title belt – Ryan “Tank” Aston.

In my next few posts I’m going to show you some of my images from the Wolverhampton show. I’m fortunate to have been invited once again to photograph the backstage scenes too and this is more in keeping with the rest of my “Pride…” project. I’ll start with the backstage stuff (or some of it – more in the next post) and then some of the action as photographed from ringside.

Trainer Paul Gough not succumbing to the pressure.

Trainer Paul Gough not succumbing to the pressure.

"Tank" relaxes before his title fight.

“Tank” relaxes before his title fight.

Luke Paddock being prepared by the "best cuts man in the business".

Luke Paddock being prepared by the “best cuts man in the business”.

Luke Paddock collects his thoughts before his (winning) fight.

Luke Paddock collects his thoughts before his (winning) fight.

Warming up. Luke Paddock.

Warming up. Luke Paddock.

Luke Paddock being bandaged by Paul Gough.

Luke Paddock being bandaged by Paul Gough.

 

And in case you’re wondering, all three Priory Park fighters won their bouts…

The Express & Star’s coverage of the event… http://www.expressandstar.com/sport/other-sport/boxing/2013/07/08/ryan-aston-retires-harry-matthews-for-first-title/

Ricky dedicated his fight to his mother’s memory – more here – http://www.expressandstar.com/sport/other-sport/boxing/2013/07/03/ricky-summers-dedicates-fight-to-mums-memory/

And Priory Park’s website – http://www.prioryparkboxing.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

